Logo
Architekturrat der Schweiz
Conseil suisse de l'architecture
Consiglio svizzero dell'architettura
Architectural Council of Switzerland
Cussegl svizzer d'architectura
Contact
Office
E heike.biechteler@architekturrat.ch
T +41 77 411 00 59

Architectural Council of Switzerland

The Architectural Council was founded in 2008 as a discussion platform for the Schools of Architecture in Switzerland. It unites all universities and universities of applied science of Switzerland teaching architecture together with the Swiss Association of Engineers and Architects (SIA), the corresponding professional association, on one common platform. In particular, SIA also functions as a representative for the interests of other societies and associations.

The Architectural Council has the objectives of harmonizing architectural education in Switzerland, promoting research and as a united front, sensitizing public policy makers for architecture as a discipline.

The members of the Architectural Council represent their respective Schools of Architecture and are responsible for providing feedback and necessary discussion points within their institution.

The President and the Vice President represent the interests of the Architectural Council, based on a common agenda, both internally and externally.

Education

The Architectural Council is committed to the dual education system with two different and proven paths to the profession of architect: The first path leads a student through high school and university, the other usually involves an apprenticeship as a draughtsman, the (Swiss) Federal Vocational Baccalaureate and the University of Applied Sciences.

The Council emphasizes a high autonomy of teaching and research at the universities. At the same time, in coordination with professional associations, it faces the challenge of further perfecting the complementary profiles of the two types of higher education institutions.

It supports high-quality and generalist orientation of the training of architects.

Furthermore, the Architectural Council set guidelines for disciplinary quality assurance through peers and peer reviews.

Mission

The Architectural Council aims to promote teaching and research in the field of architecture, in particular through

  • the creation of a national platform with international visibility,
  • positioning on basic issues of teaching and research, particularly in the context of scientific evaluations, and
  • maintaining contact with policy makers, professional organizations and the economy.

The Architectural Council is committed to the dual education system. Alone or in cooperation with other organizations, it can also take on other tasks that serve the Swiss architecture schools. By this means the Architectural Council ensures appropriate communication with European committees.

 

Research

Research in the field of architecture utilizes, to a great extent, methods from other disciplines, e.g. those of scientific or humanities research. This complicates the recognition of architecture as an autonomous discipline based on established principles and characterized by advancing knowledge and practice.

The Architectural Council notes that the differentiation of basic research and applied research, as well as their assignment to universities and universities of applied science, makes little sense. It supports the entire spectrum of research activities and cooperation between the universities.

Furthermore, the Council recognizes the «EAAE Charter on Architectural Research» as a broad foundation paper for the research issue in architecture.

Consequently, it seeks answers to the question of a specific research at the core of the discipline itself, using Methods based on «architectural design and construction» as a source of new knowledge («research through architecture» or «research through/by design»).

The Architectural Council is involved in the definition of instruments for the validation of research results in collaboration with other universities as well as national (Commission for Technology and Innovation CTI, Swiss National Foundation SNF) and international bodies.

Logo
Architekturrat der Schweiz
Conseil suisse de l'architecture
Consiglio svizzero dell'architettura
Architectural Council of Switzerland
Cussegl svizzer d'architectura
Kontakt
Geschäftsstelle
E heike.biechteler@architekturrat.ch
T +41 77 411 00 59

Der Architekturrat

Der Architekturrat wurde 2008 als Diskussionsplattform der Architekturschulen der Schweiz gegründet. Er vereint alle Hochschulen und Fachhochschulen der Schweiz im Bereich Architektur und als Berufsverband den Schweizerischen Ingenieur- und Architektenverein (SIA) in einer gemeinsamen Plattform. Der SIA vertritt dabei auch die Interessen anderer Verbände und Vereine.

Der Architekturrat will die Architekturausbildung in der Schweiz harmonisieren, die Forschung fördern und als gemeinsame Plattform das politische Umfeld für die Architektur als Disziplin sensibilisieren.

Die Mitglieder des Architekturrates vertreten ihre Schulen und sind verantwortlich für Rückmeldungen und notwendige Diskussionen innerhalb ihrer Institution.

Der Präsident und der Vize-Präsident vertreten die Interessen des Architekturrates aufgrund einer gemeinsamen Agenda gegen innen und aussen.

Lehre

Der Architekturrat bekennt sich zum dualen Bildungssystem mit zwei unterschiedlichen und bewährten Zugangswegen zum Beruf des Architekten: Einer führt über das Gymnasium und die Universität, der andere üblicherweise über die Hochbauzeichnerlehre, die Berufsmatura und die Fachhochschule. 

Der Architekturrat betont die hohe Autonomie der Lehre und der Forschung an den Hochschulen. Gleichzeitig stellt er sich, in Abstimmung mit der Berufsverbänden, der Herausforderung, die komplementären Profile der beiden Hochschultypen zu schärfen. 

Der Architekturrat unterstützt die qualitativ hochwertige und generalistische Ausrichtung der Ausbildung von Architekten. 

Der Architekturrat setzt sich Richtlinien für eine disziplinäre Qualitätssicherung durch Peers und Peer-Reviews.

Auftrag

Der Architekturrat bezweckt die Förderung von Lehre und Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Architektur, namentlich

  • die Schaffung einer nationalen Plattform mit internationaler Sichtbarkeit

  • die Positionierung in grundlegenden Fragen der Lehre und Forschung, insbesondere in Zusammenhang mit wissenschaftlichen Evaluationen

  • die Pflege des Kontaktes zur Politik, zu den Berufsorganisationen und zur Wirtschaft

Der Architekturrat bekennt sich zum dualen Bildungssystem.Der Architekturrat kann allein oder in Zusammenarbeit mit andern Organisationen weitere Aufgaben übernehmen, die den Schweizer Architekturschulen dienen. Er sorgt für eine zweckmässige Kommunikation mit europäischen Gremien.

Forschung

Die Forschung im Bereich der Architektur benutzt in hohem Masse Methoden anderer Disziplinen, so z.B. solche der naturwissenschaftlichen oder der geisteswissenschaftlichen Forschung. Dies erschwert die Anerkennung der Architektur als autonome Disziplin, die auf anerkannten Grundlagen beruht und sich durch fortschreitendes Wissen und Praxis auszeichnet. 

Der Architekturrat stellt fest, dass die Differenzierung von Grundlagenforschung und angewandter Forschung, sowie deren Zuordnung zu Universitäten und Fachhochschulen wenig sinnvoll ist. Er unterstützt die Breite der Forschungsaktivitäten und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Hochschulen.

Der Architekturrat anerkennt die «EAAE Charter on Architectural Research» als breit gefasstes Grundlagenpapier zur Forschung in Architektur. 

Der Architekturrat sucht Antworten auf die Frage nach einer spezifischen Forschung im Kernbereich der Disziplin selbst. Dies mit den Methoden die auf das «architektonische Entwerfen und Konstruieren» als Quelle neuer Wissenserkenntnisse zugreifen («Forschung durch Architektur» oder «Research through/by Design»).

Der Architekturrat engagiert sich über seine Mitglieder bei der Definition von Instrumenten zur Validierung der Forschungsresultate in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Hochschulen, nationalen (Kommission für Technologie und Innovation KTI, Schweizerischer Nationalfonds SNF) und internationalen Gremien.